Pier Peers

06May07

brighton_westpier05-06-05-007.jpg

brighton_westpier09-06-05-0071.jpg

With Quadrophenia in mind, I have headed South to Brighton this Bank Holiday. But far from marauding Mods and Rockers fighting for parkas v leather and motorbike grease v Lambretta mirrors on Madeira Drive, all I found were the comatose Historic Commercial Vehicle Society enthusing about liveries over the tinny public address system.

All that trivia was too much for me and so I loped (Westward Hove!) towards the shipwreck ruins of the West Pier.

Its designer Eugenius Birch, was growing up in London’s East End when Victorian industrialisation was gathering momentum. Joining the stampede of innovation, he became an architect, a draughtsman (and artist), building bridges, viaducts, harbours, docks and among others, the Calcutta-Delhi railway. But with more of an instinct for marine design he also tucked away 14 seaside piers into his portfolio and around our coasts, all using his screw-pile method – literally twisting the iron piles into the sea bed making them far sturdier than the wooden posts that till then were the norm. So sturdy were the foundations that his first pier at Margate survived 120 years before succumbing to the ravages of storm.

Completed in 1866 the West Pier became for Birch, like Brunel’s GWR, his jewel. The pier to end all piers. Mimicking the Regency Pavilion, there were Oriental octagonal kiosks, grand archways, elaborate Bath stonework, a magnificent theatre and later, a bandstand. ‘Taking the air’ in the Victorian sense culturally translated to ‘saucy postcards’ in the Fifties and British cinema was lent its most enduring film locations for Brighton Rock (1947),’Oh What a Lovely War’ (1969), unmentionable Carry-On disasters but more lasting perhaps, are the images of pitch battles between disenfranchised youth emulating Marlon Brando.

The 1920s saw the pier’s heyday but what remains, perhaps morally too, are the frames of mountain bikes pathetically locked to rusty railings and of Birch’s Empire-inspired Gothic structure, a Grade 1 skeletal hulk. To take its place, the people of Brighton and Hove will be blessed with the i360 – a 183 metre-high observation needle being drawn up by architects David Marks and Julia Barfield whose London Eye concept is the most visited paid-for attraction in the country with over 20 million visitors to date. “Our philosophy is to provide an architecture that is humane, accessible and a pleasure to experience,” they say in their practice’s statement.

An appropriate premise too, I would say, for a master pier-builder.



3 Responses to “Pier Peers”

  1. Just in case Shelly is reading this I translated it to modern English…
    I fnd d lov 4 piers disterbiN. havN livD n dis country nw 4 quite sumTm Im nt sure dat I undRst& d concept of a pier, praps itz coz whr I cum frm we don’t av em, we Itha go on d H2O or stay ashore…I went 1s, 2 Brighton, visiting a pier, don’t ask me wich 1 coz dey ll l%k d same, +U had2 pay 2 Nta. thN u had d choiC of Ntrtainmnt n 4m of a 16 y/o gal W a scraped bac peroxide hair n a huJ “muffin top” puking d consumed cider n FishNchips ovr d railings, or putN 20p’s n claw machines hopin 2 win a fury pal… stil 2day I cnot rmbr wich 1 I found mor amusing… S dis Y? d brit r so held bac, shll I go on d H2O or shll I stay W Shelly on d pier… I rmbr nw I Dcided 2 go on d H2O coz Shelly tld me she got seasick on d pier….

  2. Er, is there a txt translator somewhere on the net? If so, I could run your reply through it! Otherwise I’m as clueless as 50 Cent meeting Shakespeare. And vice virsa.

  3. I find the love for piers disturbing. Having lived in this country now for quite some time I am not sure that I understand the concept of a pier, perhaps it is because where I come from we don’t have them, we either go on the water or stay ashore…

    I went once, to Brighton, visiting a pier, don’t ask me which one because they all look the same, and you had to pay to enter. Then you had the choice of entertainment in form of a 16 year old girl with a scraped back peroxide hair and a huge “muffin top” throwing up the consumed cider and fish and chips over the railings, or putting 20p’s in claw machines hoping to win a fury friend…still today I cannot remember which one I found more amusing… Is this why the British are so held back, shall I go on the water or shall I stay with Shelly on the pier…

    I remember now I decided to go on the water because Shelly told me she got seasick on the pier….


Non-spam replies appreciated

